GTCYS Symphony Tour Send-Off Concert

GTCYS Symphony Tour Send-Off Concert
Anonymous (not verified)
Fri, 05/24/2024 – 16:25

The Greater Twin Cities Youth Symphonies’ flagship orchestra embarks on their highly anticipated concert tour of France and Spain on June 15. Alongside 2023 Symphony graduates, the orchestra performs in Lyon and Fourques (France) and Barcelona (Spain) at the stunning Palau de la Musica. Over the 11-day tour, students will also explore incredible locations in the French and Spanish towns of Cassis, Arles, Aix-en-Provence and Carcassonne. Throughout the tour, students can connect more deeply with their peers and gain a great appreciation for the cultures of southern France and Catalonia.

At Symphony’s tour send-off concert, you have the chance to appreciate a year’s worth of artistic growth and the full tour program! Aaron Copland’s exciting Suite from Billy the Kid, Gustav Mahler’s beautiful Blumine, and Michael Abels’ thought-provoking Global Warming. You won’t want to miss Johannes Brahm’s captivating Tragic Overture, another highlight of the evening. Igor Stravinsky’s The Firebird Suite (1919) makes a return to mark the triumphant climax on the program.

The Greater Twin Cities Youth Symphonies (GTCYS, pronounced GIT-seez) creates entry-points and pathways so more than 1,300 students of all ages, abilities, and backgrounds can excel musically and build lifelong personal skills. To level the playing field, students benefit from $230,000 in need-based scholarships for tuition and lessons. Programs include Harmony, Launch Lessons, and Pathway Musicians for underrepresented students; 10 (soon to be 11) school-year orchestras; and summer camps. GTCYS’ 25 concerts and educational activities inspire 17,000 community members. Learn more at


June 13, 2024

12 a.m. to 30 p.m.


Arts & Culture Events
Musical Performances & Concerts
Minneapolis-St. Paul
Minneapolis-St. Paul

This article: GTCYS Symphony Tour Send-Off Concert has been curated from our friends at Explore Minnesota and the original in it's entirety can be found here: